Photo exhibition : 40 FACES, 40 YEARS

A lifetime in exile

Hassan, Dalia, Mahmoud et Munina and 36 other Sahrawi’s range from 1 to 40 years old. On the occasion of the 40th anniversary of the Sahrawi refugee camps in the Southwest Algerian desert, these 40 Sahrawi refugees have lent their faces to a photo exhibition in an attempt to shed a light on an entire generation that never experienced anything other than life as a refugee.

40 years in a refugee camp in the middle of the desert, hoping against all odds, and fearing one thing: that the international community has forgotten them. Show that you haven't forgotten the Sahrawi refugees! Share one of their portraits and help the world remember them. #40faces40years

These 40 men and women live in refugee camps in the South-West of Algeria, in the heart of the Sahara desert. In a remote and harsh environment, without plants and water, subject to extreme temperatures, they remain heavily dependent on humanitarian aid. These camps were set up there 40 years ago.

European UnionTriangleCISPAFADOxfam Solidarité

Expo photo : 40 FACES, 40 YEARS

A lifetime in exile

Hassan, Dalia, Mahmoud et Munina et 36 autres, sont âgés de 1 à 40 ans. A l’occasion des 40 ans des camps de réfugiés sahraouis installés au Sud-Ouest Algérien, ces 40 réfugiés sahraouis ont prêté leur visage à l’expo-photo 40 FACES 40 YEARS, qui tente de lever le voile sur toute une génération qui n’a jamais rien connu d’autre qu’une vie de réfugiés. #40faces40years

40 ans dans un camp de réfugiés au milieu du désert, de l’espoir envers et contre tout, et une crainte : que la communauté internationale ne les ait oubliés. Montrez que vous n’oubliez pas les réfugiés sahraouis ! Partagez le portrait de l’un ou l’une d’entre eux pour le faire sortir de l’oubli. #40faces40years

Ces 40 hommes et femmes vivent dans des camps de réfugiés au Sud-Ouest de l’Algérie, au cœur du désert du Sahara. Loin de tout, dans un environnement des plus hostiles, sans faune ni flore, soumis à des températures extrêmes, ils ne survivent que grâce à l’aide humanitaire. Ces camps ont été installés là il y a 40 ans déjà.

 

European UnionTriangleCISPAFADOxfam Solidarité